Citizen Portal
About Police Department

Kerala Police consists of 20 districts of which 19 are police districts and one belongs to railway police. There are 835 police units where CCTNS project is being implemented including 482 police stations, 203 CI offices, 62 SDPO's, 25 other higher offices (including 16 training centers), 20 commissionarates / districts, 23 FSL / FPB (Forensic Lab / Finger Prints Bureau) and 20 PCR (Police Control Rooms). There are approximately 53,000 police personnel serving for Kerala Police.

The ranks used in Kerala Police are as follows
  1. Director General of Police (DGP)
  2. Additional Director General of Police (Addl.DGP)
  3. Inspector General of Police (IGP)
  4. Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG)
  5. Commissioner of Police
  6. Deputy commissioner of Police
  7. Assistant Commissioner of Police
  8. Superintendent of Police (SP)
  9. Deputy Superintendent of Police (Dy.SP)/Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP)
  10. Inspector of Police (Circle Inspector or CI)
  11. Sub-Inspector of Police (SI)
  12. Assistant Sub-Inspector of Police (ASI)
  13. Senior Civil Police Officer (Police Head Constable (HC) is now obsolete)
  14. Civil Police Officer (Police Constable (PC) is now obsolete)
Major Wings of Kerala Police
  1. Executives (Local Police)
  2. Vigilance and Anti-Corruption Bureau
  3. District Armed Reserve
  4. Special Branch CID
  5. Crime Branch CID
  6. Armed Police Battalions
  7. Kerala Police Academy
  8. Police Telecommunications
  9. State Crime Records Bureau
  10. Police Training College
  11. Forensic Science Laboratory
  12. Hi-tech Crime Enquiry Cell
  13. Assistance to NRIs/NRKs
  14. Motor Transport Wing
  15. Highway Police & Highway Alert
  16. Coastal Police
  17. Mounted Police
  18. Dog Squad
  19. Police band